poem : invitation

you sent hell-hounds to the doors of my body and

spread legged, my mouth agape in a crooked laugh, i said,

“i’ve seen worse. i’ve tasted the darkest water and drank curses, bitter blood, rolled jealousy around the meat of my tongue and i have known, intimately

the tart misery of a night walking near-empty roads, side stepping death as it speeds

towards my body

 

and felt nothing.

 

do your worst. do your most deadly and bastard deeds.

i am less human

than the beasts at my door.”

Leave a Reply

