poem: cataclysmic

you were the axis

of my first chance at love and without you here i don’t think

my heart remembers how to feel.

tell me, how will these fingers know

which way is left, and right; they attempt to make stitches and god bless them but i’m

torn

shredded from end to end,

without you, i stand

untethered. lover, lover,

so far from me you’ve wandered and still i ask of you, the last question i’ll ever whisper to the emptiness

tell me –

 tell me, now that you’ve gone

how do i remember

to breathe?
– t. bennett

Leave a Reply

