poem: plea of the heartbroken

feed my stuttering heart

a few words of placation, an

I’ll love you when you’re broken

or, I’ll love your bruises as they bloom. feel my lips on yours and our hands in each other’s and watch the fluttering of my eyes,

as you collapse around me

as if it’s where the universe began, and will end. let me make love to you in the dark, and soften against you in the light.

feed me a lie. love me enough

to cover my eyes,

to make fantasies from the smoke

of the truth

where it lays, lowly and burning.
– plea of the heartbroken ; t. bennett / @raggedhearts

Leave a Reply

