poem : exorcism 

i glow where you broke me

filled in the cracks

with gold and cement

told my ribs to heal faster

dragged my feet across blades

and walked on ocean waves to hurl

my cursed heart over the edge of the earth

to make space for the new, the good and the glorious

blooming where you

once lay.

t. bennett @raggedhearts

a note on this particular piece:

this was inspired, in part, by a video by nerdwriter1 on kintsugi – the Japanese art of repairing broken pottery “with lacquer dusted or mixed with powdered gold, silver, or platinum” / “as a philosophy, it treats breakage and repair as part of the history of an object, rather than something to disguise.”

it’s a beautiful practice, and a wonderful philosophy that, since I learned of it, has helped me to think of myself as something more beautiful for what I’ve been through, rather than something lesser, for the scars I bear.

2 thoughts on “poem : exorcism 

Leave a Reply

